In A Flash

Louisiana state government offices to be closed in 36 of 64 parishes Thursday

By: - February 17, 2021 5:11 pm

State offices across Louisiana were shut down the first three days of the week, and on Wednesday afternoon, Louisiana Commissioner of Administration Jay Dardenne announced that in more than half the state those offices will remain closed Thursday because of continuing bad weather.

Dardenne announced office closures for Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, DeSoto, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, LaSalle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Landry, Tensas, Union, Vernon, Webster, West Carroll and Winn parishes.

The closures, according to a statement from Dardenne’s office, “applies to all nonessential employees, including those authorized to work from home due to COVID-19.”

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Louisiana Illuminator
Louisiana Illuminator

The Louisiana Illuminator is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization driven by its mission to cast light on how decisions are made in Baton Rouge and how they affect the lives of everyday Louisianians, particularly those who are poor or otherwise marginalized.