Five more parishes can apply for Hurricane Delta aid


    Hurricane Delta aftermath aerials in southwest Louisiana Saturday Oct. 10, 2020, near Jennings, La. (Pool photograph by Bill Feig)

    Beauregard, Lafayette, Rapides, St. Landry and St. Martin parishes have been added to FEMA’s individual assistance program, bringing the total number of parishes impacted by Hurricane Delta where residents are eligible for aid to 10, the governor’s office announced Saturday.

    Delta made landfall as a Category 2 hurricane on Oct. 9 near Creole, Louisiana, about 12 miles east of where Laura landed as a Category 4 on Aug. 27.

    FEMA individual assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans for uninsured property loss and other programs to help people and businesses recover. In order to be eligible for aid, storm damage and losses from the hurricane and flooding must have occurred as a result of Delta and between Oct. 6 and Oct. 10. The deadline to register is Dec. 16, 2020.

    Acadia, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis and Vermilion, Beauregard, Lafayette, Rapides, St. Landry and St. Martin parishes are all the parishes where residents can apply for individual assistance related to Delta damages.

    The Governor’s Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management is working with FEMA to get Allen and Morehouse parishes onto FEMA’s individual assistance program as well, the governor’s office said.